If You Love Me, I’m Yours

13/07/2018 2 By tinaadmin
if you love me
Maud didn’t mind being boring, not really. She had a sensible job, clothes, and love life… if you counted an overbearing ex who had thanked her, rolled over and was snoring before she even realised he’d begun! She could tolerate not fulfilling her dreams, if her parents would pay her one compliment about the only thing she was passionate about in life: her art. Dot should have fit in with her flamboyant and slightly eccentric family of talented artists, but somehow, she was an anomaly who couldn’t paint. She tried hard to be part of their world by becoming an art agent extraordinaire, but she dreamed of finding her own voice. Dot’s brother Nate, a smoulderingly sexy and famous artist, was adored by everyone. His creative talent left them in awe of his ability to capture such passion on canvas. Women worshipped him, and even Dot’s friend Maud flushed and bumped into things when he walked into a room, but a tragic event in his past had left him emotionally and physically scarred, and reluctant to face the world again. Someone was leaving exquisite little paintings on park benches, with a tag saying, ‘If you love me, I’m yours’. The art was so fresh and cutting-edge, that it generated a media frenzy and a scramble to discover where the mystery artist could be hiding. The revelation of who the prodigious artist was interlinked Maud, Dot and Nate’s lives forever, but their worlds came crashing down. Were bonds of friendship, love and loyalty strong enough to withstand fame, success and scandal?

If You Love Me, I'm Yours, is the lovely and charming new novel from Lizzie Chantree-author of Ninja School Mum. I was lucky enough to receive a copy of this for review. The book first appealed to me as I loved the idea of someone leaving art around the town for people to find. There has been a movement recently of leaving positive messages and book drops. So I was really intrigued by this and wanted to read this new novel.

The friendship between Maud and Dot was just wonderful. Two women who appear to be opposites, both in appearance and personality. However as the book and their friendship developments, you see that perhaps they are not that different after all.

It was lovely to find out who was leaving the paintings and how that story unfolded. What I enjoyed probably more, was to see how the characters flourished. To try and explain without giving too much away, we all start off being the product of our parents and then as we grow and develop as individuals in life, we find our true selves. This is something I think a number of us can relate to. I know I was cheering on Maud and Dot, wanting them to be happy and shine bright. I love stories about people finding happiness. I don't mean that; I mean people going out and creating their happiness!

There was a glorious mix of relationships, sadness at their stories and also humour. There was romance involved in the story lines, we all love a romance, don't we?! However what took centre stage was the friendships between the group, which was a lovely change. I would definitely recommend this book and Lizzie Chantree as an author. I've given the book 4 stars.